the last hurrah for herb-flavored syrup

Edible Brooklyn is a great local food magazine and I was THRILLED to find that you can read issues online! While doing so, I was recently inspired by the article ‘Liquid Assets’, by Robert Simonson. As you know, I’m a fan of capturing flavors in the form of syrup but reading this article really brought the art form of bitters home. I’m actually not the biggest fan of sweet drinks so while this syrup business has been fun, they tend to languish in my fridge after their creation, waiting for me to spring them on friends that come over.

That  said, it was already on my to-do list (you may remember me mentioning it before) and so I made basil syrup as my last hurrah before I move on to the world of bitters.

BASIL SYRUP!

Ok, fine. It might just look like a urine sample but one whiff of that honey-colored nectar and you’ll know the difference. Basil lends itself well to the sweetness of the syrup and so it is actually quite delicious when mixed with club soda.

Here is the recipe:

Cat’s Basil Syrup

1 cup white sugar

1 cup water

1 1/2 cups fresh basil chiffonade

Bring the water and sugar to a boil and quickly drop in the sliced basil

Let it boil for ONE MINUTE and then remove from heat until cool.

Strain

put some cheesecloth in your strainer for the best results

and squeeze the last of the syrup out of the basil leaves

MASH MASH MASH

Then mix it with club soda to taste and prepare to be delighted!

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “the last hurrah for herb-flavored syrup”

  1. Nancy Farmer Says:

    interesting… basil syrup, who’d a thought it! But then I recently made Lavender cake (which surprised some people) and that was delicious. I think we generally don’t do enough interesting things with herbs…

Tell me what's on your mind...

