project fancy necklace

Trimmings stores are dangerous. They hold so much possibility with their Swarovski crystals, feathers, ribbons and buttons. Never go into a trimmings store without something specific in mind, it’s like going to a grocery store when you’re hungry (or drunk). You’ll just end up with $30 worth of ice cream and no money left in your checking account.

That said, I found fantastic inspiration in some dip-dyed fringe that I never knew I needed. When I saw it, I knew I’d be able to combine it with some so-so chains I already had to make into a bitchin’ necklace.

Here are the tools I used:

flat-tipped pliers – not pictured

needle-nose and curved needle-nose.

chain, fringe and a lighter

VERY CAREFULLY, use the lighter to melt the ends of the fringe so that it won’t fray. I’m willing to bet that most fringe is made out of acrylic but I did this over the sink just in case. I didn’t want to be standing over the carpet in my living room in the event that the whole thing turned into a fireball.

presto melt-o

I didn’t think to buy jump-rings while I was at the trimmings store so I cannibalized a chain instead. I pulled apart a few links in preparation.

using the flat-tipped pliers here

Before I got started, I centered the fringe on the chain that I wanted it to hang from. Once I was happy with the placement, I used the opened links to attach the two.

hooking the fringe

closing the link with the fringe and the chain in place

Here you can see a couple of links holding the fringe to the chain.

chain-link fringe... har har

I continued to hook the chain and fringe together with evenly spaced links until I both ends were locked in place. After fiddling with the chains and smoothing the fringe a bit, I was QUITE pleased with the results.

tres sexy, no?

Watch this space for more jewelry posts. I have another length of fringe that transitions from light grey to black that I’ll use to make a slightly different necklace!

Tags: , , , ,

One Response to “project fancy necklace”

  1. mother’s day gift idea « create Says:

    […] a beach fan, might I suggest making some garlic basil butter, a flowerpot pen holder or  a fancy necklace and then maybe making some delicious spaghetti squash for […]

Tell me what's on your mind...

