caramelized on-yums

Did you know you can make these ahead of time? Sautéed onions are delicious and I eat them all the time but it wasn’t until I read through the Momofuku cookbook that I realized these babies will keep in the fridge for up to a week. HEYOOO.

Following the recipe in the book (click for recipe) I cooked up all the onions we had until they were sweet and dark gold and I’ve been putting them in everything.

Here are the before and after pictures.

Here is a coolio slide show of the progression!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Taking pictures of the cooking process turned out to be a real help. Stirring and turning onions for 4 hours can make you paranoid about how long they’ve been on the stove but looking back through my digital camera reassured me that things were coming along just fine.

Tags: , , , ,

Tell me what's on your mind...

