spaghetti squash

the unassuming spaghetti squash

Lo, I have walked by you so many times, spaghetti squash, with no idea of your true potential. In fact, I’ve lumped you into the ‘icky squash’ category for years simply because you are not a zucchini, and zucchini taste like vegetables should and winter squash tastes like vegetables shouldn’t.

Fortunately for me, I sampled spaghetti squash at the amazing Thanksgiving dinner at No. 7 last year and learned the error of my ways. It is mild (only a hint of sweetness) and pretty much tastes like whatever you put on it. I had soon put it on my list of things to try at home and quickly discovered that it’s also just about the easiest thing to make.

First things first, BE CAREFUL WHEN YOU CUT THE SPAGHETTI SQUASH. They are round and hard and will roll when you try to stab them. After you succeed in not severing your hand, use it to turn to oven to 350 degrees to pre-heat.

always cut AWAY from your hand

Once cut in half, scoop out the guts.

deez guts

Then, place them face down in a lightly oiled baking dish and poke them a bunch with a fork.

so they look like this

I’m not sure WHY you should poke them with a fork. The recipes I looked at said to. It’s not like they’re going to explode like a potato in the microwave so feel free to fork or not, then stick them in the oven, cut side down, for 30-45 min. Poke them periodically and take them out when they’re soft.

After they’ve cooled for a bit, slide your fork tines between the shell and the flesh and pull it away from the shell.

zomg, it looks like spaghetti

Our spaghetti squash gave us two huge plates of ‘spaghetti’.

At first I was like omg I’ll never be able to eat my half of this, but then I snarfed the whole thing down no problem. It looks like a lot but isn’t as filling as real spaghetti so dress it up with parm or butter or sauce and go nuts!

OMNOMNOM

Tags: , , , , ,

4 Responses to “spaghetti squash”

  1. Mikey Says:

    Deez guts!

  2. Rachel Says:

    I can’t get enough squash. It’s remarkably easy to cook and so damn good. I haven’t tried spaghetti squash though. I will now.

  3. mother’s day gift idea « create Says:

    […] basil butter, a flowerpot pen holder or  a fancy necklace and then maybe making some delicious spaghetti squash for […]

Tell me what's on your mind...

