back on the crochet wagon

Back in Eugene, OR, I hosted a weekly art night at my house. Every Sunday night, my friends with ongoing and transportable projects would come over from 6-11pm to work in each other’s company. It was a great way to keep your weekly progress up and the instant feedback helped me through more than a couple mental blocks.

Art night lasted for 3 years before I moved to the East Coast. I truly miss art night but have been unsuccessful getting one started with the talented and like-minded people who I’ve met here in Brooklyn. Someday….

ANYWAY, over the course of it, I learned to crochet from my friend Diane. I started an afghan that I loved and made a few granny squares before I had to shelve it for the move. Fast forward 5 years to yesterday, I had the granny squares and all the yarn that I’d bought for the project but I’d completely forgotten how to crochet!

Fortunately for me, Brooklyn Brainery offered a crochet class. It’s almost as if they knew…

The class was lead by the lovely Sarah Goldschadt who also has a lovely blog if you’re into cute crochet, beautiful pictures and all things Danish.

The afternoon was relaxing and fun and by the end of it, I’d re-learned how to make a granny square!

SUCCESS!

I like the goal of crocheting at least one granny square a day until I run out of yarn so I’ll probably give that a whirl. Watch this space for the completed project!

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “back on the crochet wagon”

  1. Diane Lemery McDonald Says:

    Cat, I’m so proud of you for pulling out this project and re-learning how to crochet. Can’t wait to see the finished product.
    I love seeing the picture of your square. Reminds me of good times with you.
    Lv, di

  2. afghan project – day 22 « create Says:

    […] project – day 22 By cat baldwin Remember when I restarted my afghan project? I wonder how many days ago that […]

Tell me what's on your mind...

