fried green tomato recipe

I’d had fried green tomatoes made for me once before so I thought I’d give it a whirl at home. We’d recently pan-fried breaded fish with success so I figured this could only be easier.

Ingredients:

olive oil for frying (there’s probably a better oil for frying this but I grabbed olive oil)

I also made a fake aioli to eat with the tomatoes using:

mayo

lemon juice

cayenne

garlic seasoning

Slice the tomatoes into 1/4″ to 1/2″ thick slices. You want them to be thick so they don’t fall apart when they soften from the heat of the frying pan. Lay the slices in the beaten egg and flip so that it covers both sides.

Next, flip the eggy slices into the bread crumbs and coat both sides.

Drop the slices in your pan of hot oil and fry them for a couple of minutes on each side until they’re golden brown.

drain on paper towels

While the tomatoes were frying I had time to whip up a sauce to eat them with. I thought something creamy and spicy would go well with the salty, tart, crunchiness of the tomatoes.

Also because I’ll take any excuse to eat mayo.

Bon apetit!

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Tell me what's on your mind...

