wedding wear sneak peek – handmade corsage

It’s only 1 day until our wedding aka MY BIGGEST PROJECT EVAR!

Tomorrow, for the occasion, I will be sporting this heirloom corsage, here’s the story…

I decided it would be fun to do the traditional ‘old, new, borrowed and blue’ bit for the wedding. New, borrowed and blue were easy (dress, necklace, underthings), but what to do for old?  I loved the idea of creating something to wear to honor the women in my family out of the scraps from the things they’d worn for special occasions during their own lives. Thusly, I set mom about the task of digging out the old wedding dresses etc.

What we had on hand was this: mom’s wedding dress and veil, my paternal grandmother’s white wedding dress and my maternal grandmother’s gold moiré prom dress (she’d been married in a suit that no one kept).

I cut the scraps into circles and hand stitched them into flowers. Fortunately, I was also able to find some matching glass beads to finish their centers with. Initially, I made the band entirely out of the gold moiré but the material was pretty fragile so I found some ribbon to reinforce it for the velcro closure.

pretty great color match, huh?

Here’s a picture of it on. Looking forward to posting a more professional image of it after the wedding.

I can’t wait to see everyone and all my projects together in one place at last. I expect the experience to be very fulfilling. Wish me luck on not being a total cry baby but the odds are against me (I totally cried when Mike proposed).

Stay tuned for more wedding project goodness!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “wedding wear sneak peek – handmade corsage”

  1. Diane Says:

    Can’t wait till tomorrow. Know you will be a radiant and gorgeous bride.
    Love ya

  2. Marjean Says:

    How very special! You are truly a talented person, Cat!

  3. Skylar Says:

    It’s so beautiful. :) I love it!

  4. wedding hair accessories « create Says:

    […] These white bows were from my mother’s wedding dress. We’d cut them off when I was collecting materials to make what eventually became my wedding corsage. […]

Tell me what's on your mind...

