wood burning tool

I recently bought a wood burning tool to make a gift. I would have rather borrowed one but apparently there is a dearth of loanable wood burning tools in the NYC metro area.

No 7 restaurant in Fort Greene celebrated their 5th anniversary a couple of weeks ago. Because wood is the “traditional” gift of 5 year (wedding) anniversaries my idea was to design a wooden spatula to give them for the occasion.

I bought a bag of wooden kitchen utensils and practiced first on a spoon.

IMG_3283

Here are some more pictures.

IMG_3284

IMG_3285

Then I got to work on the spatula. First I burned their logo onto it.

IMG_3281

Every time you touch the wood burner tool to the wood a puff of campfire-smelling smoke rises up. It was a rather pleasant way to spend an hour or so, even if it made my eyes burn a little.

IMG_3282

Once it was all done, I shortened the handle and then set it into a shadow box frame.

IMG_3291

It was on display at the restaurant during the party!

IMG_3304

For more updates and silliness, you can also follow me on Facebook and Twitter.

I’m also on Instagram and Pinterest now so you can follow me there too if that’s your bag.  :)

Tags: , , , , ,

4 Responses to “wood burning tool”

  1. Diane Says:

    Nice job Cat. I love wood burned things. I too enjoy the smell that results.
    I myself never had much luck getting the burned effect as nicely as you did on your spatula. Hm, I think there are some nice Christmas present ideas here in this post.

  2. reevesre Says:

    Love this idea! And the spatula turned out beautifully!

  3. Lindsey Says:

    Wow, that’s awesome! Great give idea!!!

Tell me what's on your mind...

